MiEnergy Cooperative announces Youth Tour winners

MiEnergy Cooperative announces Youth Tour winners

Cresco, IA | Rushford, MN (7:30 a.m. April 3, 2018)— Caitlin Houdek, a junior at New Hampton High School, and Lillian Carlson, a junior at Houston High School, each won an educational-filled week of adventure in Washington D.C. as MiEnergy Cooperative’s Youth Tour Contest winners. Both will be among a group of 1,600 students sponsored by electric cooperatives from across the country to take part in the Rural Electric Youth Tour June 8-15.

This year marks the 54th anniversary of electric cooperatives sending high school students to Washington. The Youth Tour was inspired in 1957 by Lyndon Johnson, then a U.S. senator from Texas, when he called on electric cooperatives to send young people to Washington, “to see what the flag stands for and represents.”

The students will meet with state and federal legislators to get an up-close look at how our government works, along with experiencing the monuments, museums and history of our nation’s capital.

Iowa contestants

MiEnergy’s Iowa Youth Tour winner, Houdek, is the daughter of Eric and Julie Houdek, of New Hampton, Iowa. April Halverson, of Cresco, was selected as an alternate. Jackson Hertges, of Ossian, and Matthew Russell, of Postville, were also finalists.

Minnesota contestants

MiEnergy’s Minnesota Youth Tour winner, Carlson, is the daughter of Robert and Mimi Carlson, of Houston, Minn. Sophie Pieper, of Lanesboro, was selected as an alternate. Ryan Wagner, of Caledonia, was also a finalist.

All contestants completed MiEnergy’s online Youth Tour Contest exam. The contest winner was chosen based on the results of the online exam and their interview. The Youth Tour contest is open to high school sophomores and juniors whose parent(s) or guardian(s) are members of MiEnergy.

Page Features: